Home Made Dishwasher Detergent

DISHWASHER DETERGENT

I began searching for a way to make my own dishwasher detergent to save money. I tried a few recipes, this one has been great, no spots on glasses or silverware, no powder residue. I even see that the inside of my dishwasher is cleaner!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tbsp Borax
  • 4 Tbsp Washing Powder (like Arm&Hammer)
  • 2 Tbsp citric acid
  • 2 Tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tbsp White Vinegar (added to Liquid dispenser separately)

Combine all ingredients except for Vinegar. Store in airtight container (I use a small Mason jar) Use 1 Tbsp per load. Add vinegar to liquid dispenser separately.

Tips:

  • You can add essential oils if you like, Lemon or Grapefruit would be nice.
  • Heat water at tap prior to starting dishwasher. It wont have to heat the water as long.
  • The vinegar can be optional, it seems to work without it, but I found dishes were drier when I added it.
  • Citric Acid can be found in the Canning area of the store or online.

Leave a comment